:847-427-8340
阿拉伯语简体中文荷兰人英语德语西班牙语
菜单.

关于符合EPA Rule 20的烟雾探测器测试的问题与解答

发表于 张贴在 恒指消防安全网志

当。。。的时候 EPA的重要新替代政策(SNAP)计划 –特别是EPA规则20 –将于12月31,2017,之前在SNAP计划下列为可接受替代品的各种氢氟烃(HFC)和含HFC的混合物生效,现在将无法用于特定用途。

其中的一些变化会影响消防行业和烟雾探测器的测试。 我们整理了一系列问题和答案,以确保您的烟雾探测器测试符合这些新规则。

问题:仍允许使用气溶胶和烟雾探测器检测仪吗?

答: 好消息是,不含HFC或HFC-134a的气雾剂和烟雾探测器烟雾符合EPA规则20。 产品喜欢 PurCheck®和 SmokeCheck®从一开始就被设计为对环境友好的产品,不含HFC,并且完全符合新法规以及美国和全球火灾警报代码和标准。

市场上仍有产品仍使用HFC / HFC-134a,尽管它们被认为是危险的全球变暖剂。 为了符合新的EPA标准,使用HFC / HFC-134a作为推进剂的产品必须重新配制和重新测试。

同样重要的是要注意,尽管某些含有HFC / HFC-134a的产品在存货枯竭之前可能仍可以使用,但许多火灾探测人员已决定使用合规的环保替代品来减少有害温室气体的影响。

问题:有哪些不易燃的烟雾探测器选项?

答: 在某些环境中,例如医院,需要使用完全不易燃的烟雾探测器测试喷雾。 但是,某些竞争产品中标有“不可燃”标签的某些成分(例如乙醇)实际上在各种测试和商业条件下都可燃。

作为一种替代, PurCheck®一直使用称为Solstice HFO 1234ze(E)的推进剂,可以将其视为完全不可燃的。 专有配方进一步降低了任何易燃特性,从而使PurCheck®完全不易燃,这是Underwriters Laboratories(UL)认证实验室记录的。

问题:烟雾探测器烟雾剂中的有机硅可安全地用于检测烟雾警报器/探测器吗?

答: 需要明确的是,有数百种有机硅,而没有一种是“高挥发性”的。烟雾探测器测试喷雾中使用的任何硅氧烷共混物均已在电离和光电烟雾探测器上进行了全面测试,效果极佳。

对于SmokeCheck®和PurCheck®喷雾剂,HSI使用采用有机硅的专有配方 不是 已知会导致塑料表面出现裂纹,这是复杂的UL“认证印章”计划的一部分,经过了进一步测试。

如果您对这些即将到来的法规变更下的符合规定的烟雾探测器测试有疑问,请 致电847-427-8340或 联系我们.

发表评论

有问题或有兴趣下订单?

联系我们

: 847-427-8340
ArabicChinese (Simplified)English
Menu

Questions & Answers about EPA Rule 20 Compliant Smoke Detector Testing

Posted on Posted in HSI Fire Safety Blog

When the EPA’s Significant New Alternatives Policy (SNAP) program – specifically EPA Rule 20 – takes effect on December 31, 2017, various hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) and HFC-containing blends that were previously listed as acceptable alternatives under the SNAP program will now be unacceptable for specific uses.

Several of these changes affect the fire protection industry and smoke detector testing. We’ve compiled a list of questions and answers to keep your smoke detector testing compliant under these new rules.

Question: Are aerosol and spray smoke detector testers still permitted?

Answer: The good news is that aerosol and spray smoke detector sprays with no HFC or HFC-134a are compliant under EPA Rule 20. Products like PurCheck® and SmokeCheck®, which were designed to be environmentally-friendly from the beginning, contain no HFCs and are completely compliant with the new regulations as well as US and global fire alarm codes and standards.

There are products on the market that still use HFCs/HFC-134a – despite the fact they are known as a dangerous global warming agent. To be compliant with the new EPA standards, products using HFCs/HFC-134a as a propellant will have to be re-formulated and re-tested.

It’s important to also note that while some products containing HFCs/HFC-134a may remain available for use until stock is depleted, many fire detection personnel have decided to use compliant, environmentally-friendly alternatives to reduce the effect of harmful greenhouse gases.

Question: What non-flammable smoke detector options are available?

Answer: In certain environments, like hospitals, a totally non-flammable smoke detector testing spray is required. However, certain ingredients, like ethanol (alcohol) that are present in some competitive products labeled as “non-flammable”, can actually be flammable under various test and commercial conditions.

As an alternative, PurCheck®, has always used a propellant called Solstice HFO 1234ze(E), which may be regarded as totally non-flammable. The proprietary formulation further reduces any flammable attributes, resulting in PurCheck® being totally non-flammable as documented by Underwriters Laboratories (UL) certified labs.

Question: Are silicones safe in smoke detector aerosols for testing smoke alarms/detectors?

Answer: To be clear, there are hundreds of silicones and none are “highly volatile.” Any silicone blends used in smoke detector testing sprays have been thoroughly tested on both ionization and photoelectric smoke detectors with excellent results.

In the case of SmokeCheck® and PurCheck® sprays, HSI uses proprietary formulations which employ silicones not known to cause crazing on plastic surfaces, which was further tested as part of the complex UL “Seal of Approval” program.

If you have questions about compliant smoke detector testing under these upcoming regulation changes, please call us at 847-427-8340 or contact us.

Leave a Reply

Have questions or interested in placing an order?

Contact Us